National Council on Public History Announces 2023 Award Winners

The National Council on Public History announced the 2023 award winners. The awards are presented for work that contributes to broader public reflection and appreciation of the past or that serve as a model of professional public history practice.

The following projects from the mid-Atlantic region received awards:

Large Institution Award Winner

Reflections on Grief and Child Loss

Callie Hawkins, President Lincoln’s Cottage

Small Institution Award Winner

The Peabody Ballroom Experience

Joseph Plaster, Winston Tabb Special Collections Research Center, Sheridan Libraries

Graduate Student Travel Awards

Natalie Coté, George Washington University

Hannah LeComte, Duquesne University

Kristyn Scorsone, Rutgers University-Newark

For a complete list of awardees, click here.