AASLH Announces Leadership in History Award Winners

Fourteen individuals and organizations from the mid-Atlantic region have been named as recipients of the American Association of Local and State History's Leadership in History Awards.

From The American Association of State and Local History:

The American Association of Local and State History recently announced the recipients of its annual Leadership in History Awards.  This marks the 69th time the AALSH has given the award, which recognizes achievement in preservation and interpretation of state and local history.  Seventy-seven organizations in 32 states are being honored.

According to the AALSH website, the awards include:

  • The Award of Merit which is presented for excellence in history programs, projects, and people when compared with similar activities nationwide;
  • The Albert B. Corey Award, named in honor of a founder and former president of AASLH, which recognizes primarily volunteer-operated historical organizations that best display the qualities of vigor, scholarship, and imagination in their work.  This year’s Albert B. Corey Award will be presented to The Fort Daniel Foundation, in Smyrna, Georgia for the Fort Daniel Historic and Archaeological Research Site.
  • The HIP (History in Progress) Award is an award given at the discretion of the awards committee to 5% or less of the total winners of the Award of Merit for a project that is highly inspirational, exhibits exceptional scholarship, and/or is exceedingly entrepreneurial in terms of funding, partnerships, or collaborations, creative problem solving, or unusual project design and inclusiveness.

This year’s awards will be presented on September 19, in St. Paul, Minnesota, during the 2014 AASLH Annual Meeting.

Special congratulations to the fourteen recipients from the mid-Atlantic region:

District of Columbia
Name: Jewish Historical Society of Greater Washington, D.C.
Nomination: for the exhibit Voices of the Vigil

Name: The Delaware Division of Historical Cultural Affairs
Nomination: for the project The DeBraak and Its Atlantic World

Name: Delaware Historical Society
Nomination: for the exhibit Forging Faith, Building Freedom: African American Faith Experiences  in Delaware, 1800-1980
This nomination is also the recipient of a HIP (History in Progress) Award

New York
Name: Laurence M. Hauptman
Nomination: for the publication In the Shadow of Kinzua: The Seneca Nation of Indians since  World War II

Name: Charles B. Oellig
Nomination: for his dedication to preserving and interpreting the history of the Pennsylvania National Guard

Name: Ebenezer Maxwell Mansion
Nomination: for the Upstairs, Downstairs tour

Name: Pennsylvania College of Technology
Nomination: for the Penn College History Trail

Name: Cliveden
Nomination: for the program Emancipating Cliveden

Name: Gettysburg Seminary Ridge Museum
Nomination: for the development of the museum

Name: Landis Valley Village and Museum
Nomination: for The Lancaster Long Rifle exhibit  (PDF)

Name: Thomas B. Hagen and Erie Insurance
Nomination: for the publication The Historic Tribbals House-1842 

Name: Thomas White
Nomination: for the publication Witches of Pennsylvania: Occult History and Lore

Name: Senator John Heinz History Center
Nomination: for the publication The Civil War in Pennsylvania: The African American Experience

Name: U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center
Nomination: for the exhibit A Great Civil War: Battles that Defined a Nation, 1863

For the full list of awardees, please visit: http://download.aaslh.org/awards+material/2014+Awards+Winners.pdf