Blog Archives

2015 DC Historic Preservation Awards Registration

Registration is now open to attend the 2015 District of Columbia Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation.

Posted in News, Slider Tagged with: , , , ,

New Jersey Historical Commission Accepting Nominations for the Mildred Barry Garvin Prize

The New Jersey Historical Commission is now accepting nominations for the Mildred Barry Garvin Prize, an annual award given to a New Jersey teacher, guidance counselor, or school librarian for outstanding teaching of African American history at an grade level between kindergarten and high school.

Posted in News, Slider Tagged with: , ,

NEH Announces $4.9 Million in Awards in the Mid-Atlantic Region, $17.9 Million Nationally

On December 8, 2014, the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) announced that $17.9 million in grants have been approved for 233 humanities projects. Mid-Atlantic Region organizations have received $4.9 million in funding for 47 different projects.

Posted in News, Slider Tagged with: , , ,

2014 NJSAA Author Awards

The New Jersey Studies Academic Alliance has announced the winners of its 2014 author awards.  The awards are given to authors of works that give new understanding of New Jersey’s history and culture, demonstrate original research into New Jersey’s resources,

Posted in News, Slider Tagged with: , , , , ,

AASLH Announces Leadership in History Award Winners

Fourteen individuals and organizations from the mid-Atlantic region have been named as recipients of the American Association of Local and State History’s Leadership in History Awards.

Posted in News, Slider Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

AHA Awards 2014 Research Grants

From the American Historical Association:

The American Historical Association has announced the winners of the Bernadotte Schmitt Grant, Albert J. Beveridge Grant, Michael Kraus Research Grant, and Littleton-Griswold Grant. The grantees will be recognized at the annual meeting in January 2015.

Posted in News Tagged with: , , , ,

Wendy Bellion receives Charles C. Eldredge Prize

From the Smithsonian American Art Museum: Congratulations to Wendy Bellion, who has received the 2014 Charles C. Eldredge Prize from the Smithsonian American Art Museum.  The Eldredge Prize recognizes outstanding scholarship in the field of American art and is accompanied

Posted in News Tagged with: , , , ,


rss email twitter facebook


Based at MARCH, with numerous community partners, The Encyclopedia of Greater Philadelphia is a civic project to increase understanding of one of America’s greatest cities. From abolition and the American Revolution to yellow fever and zoos (with cheesesteaks, rowhouses, and hundreds of other topics in between), the digital Encyclopedia and print volume will offer the most comprehensive, authoritative reference source ever created for the Philadelphia region.