2013 National Humanities Medals announced

From neh.gov:

On Tuesday, July 22, President Obama announced the names of the 2013 National Humanities Medal recipients.  The ten designees are recognized for outstanding achievements in history, cultural studies, filmmaking, cultural commentary, and historic preservation.

The medalists are: literary critic M.H. Abrams; historians David Brion Davis, Darlene Clark Hine, and Anne Firor Scott; East Asian scholar William Theodore De Bary; architect Johnpaul Jones; filmmaker Stanley Nelson; radio hosts Diane Rehm and Krista Tippett; and the historical organization the American Antiquarian Society. The National Humanities Medals will be presented in conjunction with the National Medals of Arts at a White House ceremony on Monday, July 28, 2014.

Read the full release here: http://www.neh.gov/news/press-release/2014-07-22

Tagged with: , , , , ,