Mid-Atlantic Recipients of AASLH Awards

The American Association for State and Local History met last month in Richmond, VA for its conference Commemoration: The Promise of Remembrance and New Beginnings.  The organization recognized its award winners at a banquet held on September 16th, 2011.  The Mid-Atlantic recipients are:

Award of Merit Winners:

Delaware Historical Society (Wilmington, DE), for the Read House Exterior Preservation project.

New York Historical Society & El Museo del Barrio (New York, NY), for the exhibit Nueva York: 1613-1945.

City of Philadelphia Department of Records (Philadelphia, PA), for the website PhillyHistory.org.

Fairmount Park Art Association (Philadelphia), for Museum Without Walls™ AUDIO.

Jefferson County Historical Society (Brookville, PA), for the exhibit Living on the Land.

Pennsbury Manor (Morrisville, PA) and Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission (Harrisburg, PA), for the exhibit William Penn: The Seed of a Nation.

Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, Richard C. Saylor, Michael J. O’Maley III, Kimberly L. Stone, Ted R. Walke, Christy Gauthier, and Don Giles, for the publication Soldiers to Governors, Pennsylvania’s Civil War Veterans Who Became State Leaders.

The Wharton Esherick Museum (Paoli, PA), The University of Pennsylvania Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Philadelphia), University of Pennsylvania’s Architectural Archives (Philadelphia), and Hedgerow Theater (Media), for the project Wharton Esherick and the Birth of the American Modern.  

Congratulations to all the winners!

(From AASLH Award Program)

1 Comment

  1. Bethany Hawkins

    Thanks for recognizing the winners of the AASLH Leadership in History Awards. 2012 Nomination forms are now available at http://www.aaslh.org.

Comments are closed.